Skip to content Skip to navigation

Arabic Books and Astronomy in Seventeenth Century Oxford

June 4, 2021 - 9:00am
Online, via Zoom

CESTA graduate student Fyza Parviz and her collaborators invite you to join them virtually on Friday, June 4th, 2021, for the first workshop of the project: Arabic Books and Astronomy in Seventeenth Century Oxford. This project is a short-term pilot survey sponsored by St John's College, University of Oxford, to analyze the Arabic and Persian MSS on astronomical topics held in two Oxford libraries, St John's College, and the Bodleian. Its focus is notes written on the MSS by the seventeenth-century Oxford scholars who used them, in this case multilingual marginalia and interlinear notes by John Greaves, which we will annotate and digitize.

Register for the workshop

Workshop Schedule

Each of the workshop speakers will present for fifteen minutes, followed by a ten-minute Q&A session.

9 am PST (5 pm UK): Introduction
                   Dr. Julia Bray (St. John's College, Oxford)

9:25 am PST (5:25 pm UK): Greaves's Marginalia and seventeenth-century book culture
                        Fyza Parviz (Stanford University)

9:50 am PST (5:50 pm UK): Greaves's Observations and Astronomical Instruments Reconsidered
                       Dr. Taha Yasin Arslan (Istanbul Medeniyet University & St. John's College, Oxford)

10:15 am PST (6:15 pm UK): Greaves's Archimedes: the secrets of textual transmission
                        Dr. Ben Cartlidge (Christ Church, Oxford)

10:40 am PST (6:40 pm UK) BREAK

11:00 am PST (7 pm UK): Greaves's Use of Zījes from the Islamic World
                     Dr. Taha Yasin Arslan (Istanbul Medeniyet University & St. John's College, Oxford)

11:25 am PST (7:25 pm UK): Greaves and Golius: reconstructing contact from annotation
                        Dr. Ben Cartlidge (Christ Church, Oxford)

11:50 am PST (7:50 pm UK): Greaves and Languages: Arabic and Persian
                        Dr. Julia Bray (St. John's College, Oxford)

12:15 pm PST (8:15 pm UK): Project Digitization Efforts
                        Fyza Parviz (Stanford University)

12:40 pm PST (8:40 pm UK): Closing Remarks and Next Steps
                        Dr. Julia Bray (St. John's College, Oxford)