Skip to content Skip to navigation

Text Technologies Online Workshop with Bill Endres

April 3, 2020 - 10:00am
Zoom - register to get the Zoom link: https://forms.gle/GPxGazCMsKepqr1C7

Please join us for a Text Technologies online workshop on recovering text in manuscript images with Bill Endres this Friday, April 3, 2020 at 10 am PDT/ 12 pm CDT/ 1 pm EDT (in your timezone, click here)

Bill Endres is an Assistant Professor at the University of Oklahoma, who has worked extensively with the digitization of the St. Chad Gospels in Lichfield Cathedral. The workshop will present some of the techniques Professor Endres wrote about in his new book, Digitizing Medieval Manuscripts, which can help recover hard-to-read text in manuscripts. These techniques can be used on images of different resolutions and quality, even those taken with camera phones.

This workshop covers a basic introduction to ImageJ and show us how to divide images, apply alternative LUTs to increase contrast, split an RGB image, and use alternative color spaces for recoveries. The plan is for a 60-90-minute hands-on session with Prof. Endres showing techniques while participants trying them out on their own computers. (Refer here for links to download in preparation.)

To participate, please register here https://forms.gle/GPxGazCMsKepqr1C7.

Contact Email: 
cesta_stanford@stanford.edu
Spotlight: 
Yes